Leftovers

Last week I posted my first weekly menu (don’t worry there will be one at the bottom of this post). Today, though, I wanted to talk about leftovers.

So many families waste food by not reusing what was leftover from previous meals. There is a misconception that leftovers have to be eaten in the same way that they were served. Well, I am here to tell you that’s just not the case! What a boring way to use leftovers (although, some meals are just so good you want to eat them exactly the same, and that is fine)!

Today, I’m going to give you an example of how I used one of my meals from last week into a separate and delicious lunch! When I made spaghetti squash (which was mouthwatering), my husband and I had a ton left over. I knew I wanted to do something with it and didn’t really feel like eating it the same way we had for dinner a couple of nights previous.

So, I decided to turn it into fiesta spaghetti squash. I served mine with garlic toast, but if you wanted to keep it low carb you could easily serve it with a salad or any other veggie of your choice. You could even serve it just on its own! It was such a fun and yummy way to transform our leftovers in an exciting and delicious meal.

Fiesta Spaghetti Squash in pan

 

I took the pre-made spaghetti Squash and added:

  • 1/2 can of black beans
  • 1/2-1 cup salsa (depending on how much is left over)
  • diced jalapeno to taste
  • 1/2 bell pepper chopped
  • 1/2 small onion chopped

put all ingredients in a pan and heat on medium high for 7-15 mins or until heated through

Weekly Menu is as follows:

  • Monday: Healthy Fettuccine Alfredo
  • Tuesday: Baja Chicken Tacos
  • Wednesday: Cheese Ravioli with meat sauce
  • Thursday: Eggplant Parmesan & side salad
  • Friday: Italian Chicken & Okra
  • Saturday: Lemon Salmon & Asparagus
  • Sunday: Chicken Enchiladas

Keep an eye out for my Thursday blog, I will be posting two recipes from above and an accompanying grocery list! That should make your recipes and shopping a breeze! Enjoy! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

